Author Topic: Buffeting  (Read 287 times)

Offline Ray1965

• Bike: DL650XT M1
Buffeting
« on: July 09, 2024, 13:02:19 »
Well, I said id make a new post about buffeting as the other posts are a good few months old. I have had some experience with the Givi Airflow screens as I had one on my old 2012 wee and I must say it worked fine. But........
I bought my '21 650XT back in March this year. Givi Airflow screen already fitted. I'm getting a lot of buffeting. I changed the mirrors hoping that would help but no joy. I've tried the screen in every position possible. If I put it up full its a lot better but I hate looking through it. I'm not tall either at 5'8. I'm thinking ill have to try a different screen.
Stay between the ditches, and keep the rubber side down

Offline Barbel Mick

• Bike: 800RE
Re: Buffeting
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2024, 15:53:48 »
I've heard a couple of owners have found that the Givi Airflow didn't work for them, but is only a couple, you could be another?
At a couple of inches taller than you I found that the Airflow worked best on my gen 2 at pretty much the lowest setting of both screens. The lower one on the bottom setting & the top one maybe an inch or so up from the lowest. The Airflow works best when the screens overlap the most.
Have you tried mirror extenders? They did help a little bit along with the 'diamond' shaped mirrors.
The other thing you could try, before spending too much money is to fit nylon spacers between the screen & fairing. 15mm or 20mm should be enough. If you try them push the bottom out more than the top to slope the screen a bit. Try 15mm on the bottom only then if necessary try the 20mm on the bottom & 15mm on the top.
You can get them fairly cheap from E-Bay but you will need longer screws too.
M5 is the size I think? 
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/266141470883?itmmeta=01J2BZKMZJAA5P745WCYCABM5A&hash=item3df74490a3
Mick

Retired Breakfast Tester and semi professional tumbler.

Offline Upt North

• Bike: DL650 L7