Author Topic: Newbie looking for advice on Vstrom 650  (Read 2490 times)

Offline Bingo

• Bike: Honda Vision 110. Piaggio BV350ST
Newbie looking for advice on Vstrom 650
« on: February 17, 2023, 11:31:47 »
Hi folks. Newbie here.

I live in the North Yorkshire Dales in the UK and currently ride a Piaggio Beverly 350ST and a Honda Vision 110 (Carried on the back of a motorhome).  I bought the Piaggio just for general trips out sometimes with Mrs Bingo on the back in 2021. Its been OK but I am bored of it and thinking of going back to a proper bike.

So I need something that will cope with a Pillion OK and will have a bit more power and better handling than the Piaggio.  Tried a CBF1000 the other day but they are a bit long in the tooth and Mrs Bingo wasn't so keen. Bit heavy also.

The contenders right now are

Honda NC750xa (2017)
Suzuki Vstrom 650 (2020 or maybe an earlier model)
Honda CB650F (2018)

Not ridden any of them yet but will be in the next week or so.  I also struggle from Arthritis in the knees so riding position and being able to get on and off the bike are important.  don't want to be cramped or struggling to get my leg over the saddle.  Mrs Bingo is very petite and about 5ft 4. She struggled to reach the grab handles on the CBF1000 and a top box or back support is essential.

My thoughts are the CB650F will be an absolute hoot for me with its performance but I'm not sure it will be a good pillion bike.  Vstrom will be somewhere in between but I like the look of the nc750xa, the storage, fuel consumption and presumably reliability. Just not sure it will put enough of a smile on my face when solo riding.  I'm thinking the Vstrom will be somewhere in between.  Low maintenance would be an advantage for me as I can't do any of it myself.

Just looking for opinions and any feedback in advance. Thanks

Offline Malfos

• Bike: Honda Forza 300
Re: Newbie looking for advice on Vstrom 650
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2023, 11:56:37 »