Author Topic: 1st Trip abroad  (Read 2530 times)

Offline SgtSmash

1st Trip abroad
« on: March 12, 2010, 20:18:54 »
Hi blokes/gurls

I'm a noob at touring - I'm supposed to be going on a 10/12 day tour to South of France in early June.

We're staying at a mix of campsites and cheap B&Bs.

Any tips? Advice?

I'm going with three other lads, all lads in the "job" and they're all riding Beemers, so I don't want to let the side down!!

don't forget, total virgin at this touring lark so ANY info greatly appreciated - however, I know they speak French in France, they drive on the wrong side of the road and the local currency is Euro.  Any OTHER info would be appreciated  :ty:

Thanks
"Reading isn't an occupation we encourage amongst Police Officers. We try to keep paperwork down to a minimum" -Orten.

"Warning! You want a warning? O.K., I'm warning you not to do that again or I'll give you another ticket." - Anon .

Offline SgtSmash

Re: 1st Trip abroad
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2010, 20:30:47 »
While I remember - can anyone recommend a tent (make/model) which will take up minimal space on the bike - ta!
"Reading isn't an occupation we encourage amongst Police Officers. We try to keep paperwork down to a minimum" -Orten.

"Warning! You want a warning? O.K., I'm warning you not to do that again or I'll give you another ticket." - Anon .

Offline John

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2010, 21:33:18 »
Sleeping bag, remember you're going somewhere warm, so not too heavy, a cheap one will do. Get a liner for it, something in fleece is good, the just use the bag as a duvet, I.e. put it over the top but don't get in it. That way if you get too hot you can throw it off. If it does get cold you can get into the bag properly.

Take an airbed, cheap ones about £10, a thermarest or such is great, but you're somewhere hot, so comfort is more important. If the cold is coming up through the ground, put your outer clothing under the airbed. A blow up pillow if the airbed doesn't have one.