Author Topic: Solid Red FI Light  (Read 720 times)

Offline TrooperOnAStrom

• Bike: V-Strom1000 (DL1000A) 2016
Solid Red FI Light
« on: December 20, 2023, 09:22:33 »
Hello everyone. Am fairly new to V-Stroms. Bought my bike 2nd hand but in good condition with less than 8000 miles on it.

Anyway today when starting the bike, the bike started and ran but the red FI light stayed solid red during idle for about 3 minutes, but once I started riding, it turned off and didn't come back on. Due to it being close to Xmas, dealerships and bike workshops here are closed already for the Xmas break. I do also know about putting it in dealer mode, but kind of just thought I'd ask here first before I even attempt that.
Bike was in storage for 4-5 months prior but it started, idled and ran just fine. No stutters and the check engine light wasn't on and it wasn't alternating between the clock and red FI light. It was just solid red, as far as I saw or paid attention anyway.

My 2 questions are:
1. What does the solid red FI light indicate when it isn't alternating between the clock and FI error?
2. Is it something to be concerned about or is it a symptom of being in storage?
It is a 2016 DL1000

Online Fat Rat

• Administrator
  • Bloke/Geezer/Fella
  • Bike: DL650A L6, K8 DL1000 & Tenere 700
Re: Solid Red FI Light
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2023, 09:32:32 »
Morning. If you use the search function for 'dealer mode', your bike will display a code to point you in the right direction. My money is on the O2 sensor.
*** Bikers Campsite in West Wales ***

Learn to spell! There's a big difference between knowing your shit and knowing you're shit

Visit the V-Strom.co.uk shop today!

Offline mr_diver

• Ride Coordinator
  • The Rantings of a Crazed Lunatic
  • Bike: 'onda Varadero XL1000v9, 'onda CX500ec '83, GSX14 '06, DL650 K6 (Blue) R.I.P,
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2023, 10:01:13 »
 :welcome:

Ride Coordinator

Offline Barbel Mick

• Bike: 800RE