Author Topic: How often should I change my chain / sprockets  (Read 3244 times)

Offline JHGlee

How often should I change my chain / sprockets
« on: August 29, 2014, 13:58:16 »
I'm still fairly new to this biking lark so please forgive the daft questions.... But how often should I replace my chain / sprockets?

I know the signs of wear to look for on both the chain and the sprockets, but someone told me that I should change it every two years regardless.  Does this should correct...?

In an extreme example........if I had a bike that I did just 500 miles per year..... Was regularly cleaned and maintained... Would the chain and or sprockets need replacing after a period of time? If so is two years correct?

I'm sure this is a 'how longs a piece of string question' but what sort of life expectancy (in miles) should I get out of the chain / sprockets on my vstrom?  

Intrigued....!

:ty:
Ex Glee Owner | Now riding KTM 1190 & Ducati Multistrada

Offline iansoady

Re: How often should I change my chain / sprockets
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 14:03:21 »
When they need it.....

Seriously, chains and sprockets (provided they're of good quality / X ring) will last a long time an often will need little adjustment. As an example, I sold my Triumph Tiger 955i with over 18,000 miles on the clock after 8 years (yes I know, should get out more....) on the original chain, and with no signs of wear. I only needed to adjust it once in that time. Well to be honest I'm not even sure if it needed it then.

Having said that, I'm probably rather gentler on my bikes than some people.
Ian.
2005 DL650
1931 Sunbeam Model 10

Offline frez

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2014, 14:05:52 »
A chain and sprockets can last anywhere from 1000 to 30000 miles depending on how it is looked after. Keep it well adjusted, cleaned, oiled and rust free and it will last a long time. Neglect it and it will last no time at all.