Author Topic: Heated Grips Oxford Hot Grips 2013/14  (Read 1412 times)

Offline BadBoyBubby

Heated Grips Oxford Hot Grips 2013/14
« on: January 12, 2014, 10:08:44 »
:text-imnewhere:

DL650 K5 55 plate

Hi,

Firstly, Hi to all, I'm a newbie on here...... bought the bike for a winter ride and for when I don't want to cart the Mrs around lol.

Bought my first Suzuki  (well road legal anyway) just before xmas, got the Suzuki Brush/hand guards  on there and bought some of the new (well 2012) Oxford Hot Grips (Sports so I could have the bar ends on still) but after having had to cut off my rubber throttle grip (yeah, yeah I know!) I have now found that I have a lip on the end of actual plastic throttle 'slider' which, I would/could have trimmed off but noticed that the heated grip on the throttle side would have been too large to fit & would have just been moving on its own without actually moving the throttle!

Has anyone experienced/overcome this same problem, I'm loathe to spend £288 on original Suzuki heated grips for this bike, and Oxford have served well in the past on previous bikes (when I remembered to turn them off)

Also, anyone got a good place to get original set of grips from?

Any help gratefully accepted

Cheers

Amos. :ty:

Sorry, another question.... I have found some originals on ebay but for a K4 model, does anyone know if there is any difference or if they will fit my K5?

Thanks  :shrug:

Offline TLPower

• Bike: ThunderBastard (KTM 1190 ADV)
Re: Heated Grips Oxford Hot Grips 2013/14
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2014, 10:42:18 »
Whilst not being part of the welcoming committee, welcome anyway.

I had a similar issues with my heated grips not fitting the throttle grip. I ground off the lip and then used Araldite to secure the grip to the tube.

Just make certain the grip is in the correct place first.

Welcome yahda, yahda, yahda.