Author Topic: Noisy 4th Gear  (Read 1308 times)

Offline Descolada

Noisy 4th Gear
« on: February 01, 2013, 10:18:04 »
Hi All,

Is there any knowledge here of issues with 4th gear on a K9 wee?

I have noticed that at 30mph at about 3k rpm my 4th seems an awful lot noisier that the rest. Am still trying to localise the noise but it does seem to be very much linked to 4th gear. Could be a bearing, there's plenty of oil in the beastie?

I know it's a little vague, but any help on narrowing down the cause would be hugely appreciated, as would an avalanche of "that's normal" replies.

I will put my hand up and say that I am still very new to this bike (6 week minus 2 for snow and ice), so it could just be inexperience.

Thanks in advance.

Offline Fatbelly

Re: Noisy 4th Gear
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2013, 10:29:46 »
I'm not known for avoiding the stupid answer, so at the risk of looking stupid (again) here's a daft suggestion.

Are you sure the noise is related to 4th gear and not a certain speed? I have noticed with various "dual purpose" type tyres like ours that sometimes they like to "sing" at a certain speed. I had a set of Trailwings on my old Vee that gave a distinctive whine from the front tyre at about 45-55mph.

I also noticed it with Anakees on my old Varadero.

Told you it was daft. :shrug:

Offline MartinW

• Administrator
  • Bike: DL650 K4 Blue
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2013, 10:34:58 »
Mine resonates at 35mph on one single hill and never anywhere else, it has done this from new. I will find out this week if it's the tyres when I ride up it on Anakee's for the first time.
Tall, Dark and Handsome (In 1987) - Just tall now !!

Chief Stasi

Offline Descolada

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2013, 10:38:40 »
Quote from: "Fatbelly"
I'm not known for avoiding the stupid answer, so at the risk of looking stupid (again) here's a daft suggestion.